Women in the Ministry

Pastor is a PastorSince Friday, I have been in heated debate (some friends in which they don’t agree with me and for more than one post has told me so) about women in ministry.

While you are entitled to have any OPINION you want, what I KNOW is what the Bible says. I also found a post that coincides with what I have found in the Bible. (What Pastor Rich Wilkerson Jr. has said before, along with many other pastors, including the pastors I sit under at my church, is that even though the Bible was written SO long ago, it is still relevant today!)

In Judges 4we read about a woman named Deborah, who became judge over Israel. Not like a judge we see in today’s standards, but essentially she was a prophet (or today’s terms, a woman pastor). Her husband, Lapidoth, was the head of their household, but God called her to be judge/prophet/woman pastor over Israel.

In 2 Kings 22 (specifically verses 14-16), we find another woman prophet, Huldah. She heard from God and prophesied.

Those are Old Testament examples.

“But we are no longer under the old law…”

Okay, let’s go to the New Testament.

17 ‘In the last days,’ God says,

‘I will pour out my Spirit upon all people.
Your sons and daughters will prophesy.
Your young men will see visions,
and your old men will dream dreams.
18 In those days I will pour out my Spirit
even on my servants—men and women alike
and they will prophesy.

Acts 2:17-18 (NLT)

In Romans 16, the apostle Paul greeted his co-workers in the ministry Phoebe, Priscilla and Aquila.

What is my point? My point is this: GOD IS NOT A RESPECTER OF PERSONS! He doesn’t just call men into ministry. I have met and known many female pastors and they are just as called as the male pastors I know. The calling is not gender specific.

 

For a message from my church on Women in Ministry, click here

Leave a Reply

