Socially Acceptable

Acceptance in human psychology is a person’s assent to the reality of a situation, recognizing a process or condition (often a negative or uncomfortable situation) without attempting to change it, protest, or exit.

Social acceptance affects people of all sorts and includes children, teenagers, and adults. Social acceptance could be defined as the fact that most people, in order to fit in with others, attempt to look and act like them. Or sometimes it is a term that refers to the ability to accept or to tolerate differences and diversity in other people or groups of people.

Children and teenagers tend to do a lot of things to try to be accepted among friends. A desire to be accepted by those whose friendship the child or teen values also determines the child’s openness towards smoking, drinking, swearing, sexual activity, and much more.

Adults also exhibit certain behaviors (and avoid others) out of the desire for the acceptance and approval of their friends. To be one of the group, they might do some of the same things as teens and children (e.g. drinking or taking other drugs).

We, as human beings, all want to be accepted. This is because God designed us to be relational, as He is a relational God. But is there a line that we can cross which could make us seem desperate for acceptance? 

I was just talking to someone about a person we know and I noticed something. Anytime I am around that person, they are looking in my direction (I am focused working on something) with a look on there face that is almost saying “please talk to me.” It’s a bit sad.

But then, this thought came to me: Do I do that? Do I make myself seem desperate for human attention? Am I seeking God’s attention or man’s?

My point of this post is this: check yourself against what God says.

Be Blessed!

Leave a Reply

